People from all walks of life find themselves charged with DUI in New Jersey.
Picking up a DWI charge does not make you a criminal, but it can have significant long-term consequences for you and your family.
Working with a skilled NJ DUI attorney gives you the best chance to reduce the impact a DUI charge could have on your life.
There are many NJ DWI lawyers to choose from. How do you know which DWI lawyer in New Jersey is right for you?
Working with an aggressive and experienced DUI lawyer in NJ ensures that you receive a vigorous defense that could help put your DUI charges behind you.
Wiley Lavender Maknoor, PC, has very experienced lawyers who stand ready to defend your rights.
To speak with an experienced New Jersey DUI defense lawyer today, please contact us.
New Jersey Drunk Driving Offenses
According to NJ Statutes § 39:4-50, the police can charge a person with driving under the influence of liquor or drugs.
This is the offense commonly known as DUI or DWI. You can pick up these charges if your driving pattern indicates impairment or if the police test your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and it is 0.08% or greater.
First DUI Offense
A person charged with a first-offense DUI involving a BAC of at least 0.08% but no greater than 0.10% faces up to 30 days in jail and a fine between $250 and $400.
Additionally, first-time offenders must be detained at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IRDC) for no less than 12 but no more than 48 hours over two consecutive days, with a minimum of six hours per day.
A person convicted of this offense must forfeit their license until they install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle.
Those who drive with a BAC of 0.10% or greater or drive under the influence of a drug face a fine between $300 and $500.
Additionally, the court will suspend the person’s license for at least seven months up to one year for driving under the influence of drugs.
If your BAC falls between 0.10% and 0.15%, you must forfeit your license until you install an ignition interlock device.
However, you will forfeit your license for at least four but no more than six months and install an ignition interlock device if your BAC is over 0.15%.
Second and Third Offense
The penalties you face increase if you have a prior conviction on your record. It does not matter if your previous conviction occurred in New Jersey or another state.
You face up to 90 days in jail for a second offense, but you must spend 48 consecutive hours in an IRDC program. You must complete 30 days of community service as well.
Your license suspension lasts one to two years, and you must install an ignition interlock system in your car.
Similarly, a third or subsequent offense carries at least 180 days in jail, but the court could reduce your sentence to 90 days if you spent that time in an inpatient program.
You will lose your license for eight years and must also install an ignition interlock device.
Contact a Drunk Driving Lawyer in NJ
Choosing the right NJ DWI lawyers can make a huge difference for you. There is too much at stake for you and your family to take your chances with an inexperienced lawyer.
Instead, choose the law firm of Wiley Lavender Maknoor, PC, to represent you. Our firm vigorously represents people charged with DUI across New Jersey.
Contact us online today or call us at 732-494-6099 for a free consultation.